MINUTES

Geoffrey Zimmer called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance. This meeting was held in the high school cafeteria.

Present:	Phil Austin, Siubhan Bongiovanni, Louis Cianfrocco, Dan Gibbons, Edward
	Gratien, Daniel Mayer, Russell Wehner, Geoffrey Zimmer

Absent:

- Also Present: Michael R. Eiffe, Superintendent of Schools Scott P. Mahardy, Assistant Superintendent for Business Jason P. Clark, Assistant Superintendent for Instruction
- Visitors: Dana Kent, Kari Cumber, Kerry Berman, Brianna Schiedo, Elizabeth Wilcox, Selasie Tetexia, Kadi Luchsinger, Paul Gloska

MINUTES

II. Public Comments

The Chittenango Central School District Board of Education welcomes and encourages public input and comments. Board meetings are open meetings held in public, but are not public meetings in the sense of traditional town meetings. The Board accepts and understands its obligation to represent and to listen to the community. The time for public comments is offered at the beginning of every Board meeting. Members of the public are also encouraged to contact Board members before or after Board meetings to express concerns. The Board reserves the right to encourage or exclude comment at any other time. Public comments, at Board meetings, are welcomed within a controlled forum format, as facilitated by the Board President, which does not permit open discussion of confidential issues, such as, but not limited to, student discipline and personnel performance. Issues of a confidential nature would be forwarded to the Superintendent for further review and response.

There were no public comments at this time.

III. Consent Agenda

Upon motion made by Gibbons, seconded by Wehner, the following resolutions were offered:

- A. Minutes
 - 1. Approve the Minutes of the Regular Board of Education meeting from December 21, 2021.
- B. Financial
 - 1. It is recommended that the Treasurer's Report for November 2021 be accepted.
 - 2. It is recommended that the Claims Auditor's Report for November 2021 be accepted.
 - 3. It is recommended that the Appropriation Status Reports for December 2021 be accepted.
 - 4. It is recommended that the Revenue Status Reports for December 2021 be accepted.
- C. It is recommended that the Board of Education, pursuant to NY Education Law Section 1709, appoints Dana Kent as a member of the Chittenango Central School District Board of Education to the seat previously held by James Boswell, vacated on December 6, 2021, with such appointment effective immediately and through the date of the next annual meeting on May 17, 2022.

VOTE: AYES – 8 NAYS –	- 0
-----------------------	-----

MINUTES

IV. Educational Presentation/Topics

- A. New Teacher Introductions Information/Discussion
- B. Exceptional Learners Program Information/Discussion

V. Old Business

- A. CRSSA and ARP Federal Stimulus Grants Information/Discussion
- B. Capital Project Planning: Michael Eiffe/Scott Mahardy Information/Discussion

VI. <u>New Business</u>

Motion by Gibbons, seconded by Gratien, to approve new business recommendations A-B:

- A. It is recommended that the IRS mileage rate of \$0.585 per mile be adopted effected January 1, 2022. Discussion/Action
- B. Draft 2022-2023 School Calendar: Michael Eiffe Discussion/Action

VOTE:	AYES – 9	NAYS – 0

VII. <u>Superintendent's Report</u>

- A. Tradition of Excellence, Celebrations, and Successes
- B. School Safety Update
- C. Scholastic Art Showcase CCSD Students
- D. BOCES Services Meeting Review TBD
- E. BOE Budget Planning Session on Saturday, February 5, 2022, at 9 a.m.
- F. Next Board of Education Meeting on February 8, 2022, at 6:30 p.m. in the Middle School
- G. Legislative Visits: Assemblyman Salka and Senator May
- H. NYSCOSS Winter Institute and Lobby Day, March 6-8, 2022

MINUTES

VIII. Board Members' Reports

- A. Member Reports
 - 1. Audit Committee
 - 2. Budget Committee
 - 3. Facilities/Transportation Committee
 - 4. Policy Committee
- B. Board Member Comments

IX. <u>CSE Recommendations</u>

A. Motion by Austin, seconded by Gratien, to accept the following CSE recommendations:

VOTE:

AYES – 9

NAYS – 0

MINUTES

X. <u>Personnel</u>

- A. Motion by Gratien, seconded by Cianfrocco, to accept personnel recommendations 1-10.
 - 1. It is recommended that the resignation of Micael Speirs, School Psychologist, be accepted effective January 7, 2022.
 - 2. It is recommended that Ciara Colburn be granted a four-year probationary appointment as a Teaching Assistant effective December 20, 2021 through December 19, 2025, pending verification of Teaching Assistant Certification.
 - It is recommended that Karen Nash be granted a temporary part-time appointment (0.6 FTE) as a Speech Therapist effective January 18, 2022 through June 30, 2022 at a per diem rate.
 - 4. It is recommended that Jennifer Gerardi, English Teacher, be granted an unpaid parental leave of absence at the end of allowable disability leave, effective on or about March 3, 2022.
 - 5. It is recommended that Kelly Leonard, Teaching Assistant, be granted a parental leave of absence with allowable disability leave on or about May 13, 2022, through June 24, 2022.
 - 6. It is recommended that Meghan Collins, Instructional Aide (Students with Disabilities), be granted a leave of absence effective January 18, 2022, through June 30, 2022.
 - 7. It is recommended that Jessica Nourse be granted a long-term substitute appointment as an Instructional Aide (Students with Disabilities) effective January 18, 2022, through June 30, 2022.
 - 8. It is recommended that Patrick Murray, Building Maintenance Mechanic/HVAC, be granted a permanent appointment effective January 12, 2022.
 - 9. It is recommended that the following names be approved for the Teacher/Substitute List for the 2021-2022 school year:

Judy Balducci Mattison Cole Laura Griffin Abigail Owens Andrea Stanek Jessica Nourse Margaret Bryerton Aaron Gillette Shannon Koegel Zoe Sauvé Hope Toombs Shania Cadwell Brittany Gillette Kristina Lampman Kathleen Smith Chyann Wagoner

MINUTES

10. It is recommended that the following names be approved for the Support Staff Substitute List for the 2021-2022 school year:

Judy Balducci	Margaret Bryerton	Shania Cadwell
Kristina Lampman	Rachel Noble	Andrea Stanek
Jennifer Russo	Chyann Wagoner	Jessica Nourse
VOTE:	AYES – 9	NAYS – 0

XI. <u>Executive Session</u>

Motion by Cianfrocco, seconded by Mayer, that the Board adjourns into Executive Session at 7:30 p.m. for the discussion of personnel issues, negotiations, and legal matters.

VOTE:	AYES – 9	NAYS – 0

Motion by Gibbons, seconded by Mayer, that the Board returns from Executive Session at 8 p.m.

VOTE:	AYES – 9	NAYS – 0

XII. <u>Adjournment</u>

Motion by Wehner, seconded by Austin, to adjourn at 8 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott P. Mahardy District Clerk